Gov. Okorocha Suspends Ten Traditional Rulers In Imo State

Ten traditional rulers in Imo state have been suspended indefinitely by the state government for alleged disobedience, indiscipline and active participation in partisan politics.

This was made known on Thursday in a press statement endorsed by the Secretary to the Government of Imo State, Sir George Eche.

The affected monarchs include; Eze Ben Nwaneri of Owubinubi Autonomous community in Ikeduru Local Government Area; Eze Clifford Amadi of Amawuihe Ubomiri Autonomous community in Mbaitoli Local Government Area and Eze V. O. Ahamefule of Oboro Amurie Autonomous community in Isu Local Government Area.

Others are Eze A. E. A. Durueburuo of Okwudor Autonomous community in Njaba Local Government Area; Eze Reginald Amadi of Obetiti Nguru community in Aboh Mbaise Local Government Area; Eze Akujuobi Osuagwu of Awaka community in Owerri North Local Government Area and Eze Fionna Iriele of Ogberuru Autonomous community in Orlu Local Government Area.

Also See: Rotimi Amaechi Paid N100m To Join APC – Bafarawa Reveals

ten traditional rulers 2

The remaining of the ten traditional rulers include Eze D. O. Izim of Umunkwo community in Isiala Mbano Local Government Area; Eze Innocent Ikejiofor of Amandugba Autonomous community in Isu Local Government Area and Eze Chinedu Osuebi of Azara Obiato in Mbaitoli Local Government Area.

The statement then directed the Commissioner for Community Government Council and Traditional Institution to retrieve their certificates and staff of office immediately.

Meanwhile, ahead of the Imo senatorial re-run election, scheduled to hold on Saturday, July 23, 2016, the Imo State Commissioner of Police, Mr. Taiwo Lakanu, says he has moved his Command Headquarters to Okigwe.

The police warned political parties, their agents and supporters, to conduct themselves in accordance with the Electoral Act and Guidelines, so as to ensure orderly and violence-free election in the affected areas of the state.

Political parties were also warned to make their campaigns issue based, as the police equally would not tolerate the use of abusive or inflammatory languages during the period.

Read Also: Has Saraki Abandoned APC For PDP?

However, the All Progressives Congress (APC) and the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) in the state have continued to trade words ahead of Saturday’s re-run elections in Okigwe North Senatorial district, Isiala Mbano and Oru East state constituencies.

You might also like